15 august Drawing Indian Flag For Students with A History of the flag

Every year, on the 15th of August, India celebrates its Independence Day with great enthusiasm and patriotism. The Indian flag holds a profound significance, but many people, including children, are unaware of the meaning behind its colors. In this article, we will delve into the importance of the Indian flag, understand the symbolism of each color, explore its history, and learn how to draw the flag.

The Colors and Their Meanings

1. Saffron – Strength and Bravery

At the top of the Indian flag, we find the vibrant color saffron, which symbolizes the strength and bravery of the nation. It commemorates the courageous history and sacrifices made by our freedom fighters during the struggle for independence.

2. White – Truth and Peace

The middle band of the flag features the color white, representing the path of truth, peace, and honesty. White also signifies purity and knowledge, essential values that shape the nation’s character.

3. Navy Blue Chakra – The Wheel of Law

In the middle of the flag lies the Ashoka Chakra, a navy blue wheel with 24 spokes. This represents the “Wheel of Law” established by Emperor Ashoka. It serves as a reminder of righteous governance and the pursuit of righteousness in all endeavors.

4. Green – Fertility and Growth

Finally, at the bottom of the flag, we see the color green, symbolizing fertility, growth, improvement, and the auspiciousness of the land. It signifies the nation’s commitment to agricultural prosperity and environmental well-being.

Interesting Facts about the Indian Flag

1. The Designer of the Indian Flag

The Indian flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya, a freedom fighter, in 1921. Born on 12th August 1876, Venkayya was a follower of Mahatma Gandhi. He chose the colors red for Hindus and green for Muslims, beautifully uniting the diverse communities under one flag.

2. The Appearance of the Flag

The Indian flag consists of three horizontal stripes. The top stripe is saffron, the middle one is white with a navy blue Ashoka Chakra, and the bottom stripe is green. The width-to-length ratio is 2:3.

3. Representation of Values

The tricolor represents various core values of the nation: saffron signifies courage and sacrifice, white represents peace and truth, and green symbolizes faith and chivalry.

4. Adoption of the Flag

The Indian flag was officially adopted on 22nd July 1947, just before gaining independence from British rule.

5. Changes in the Flag

Over the years, the Indian flag has undergone six changes in its design during its 112-year history.

6. Significance of the Blue Chakra

The blue color of the Ashoka Chakra represents the sky, the ocean, and the universal truth, signifying India’s vast and diverse expanse.

7. The Material of the Flag

The Indian flag must be made of khadi, a hand-spun fabric or silk made famous by Mahatma Gandhi, in accordance with the legislation.

8. Sole Manufacturer of the Indian Flag

The only licensed manufacturer and supplier of the Indian National Flag in India is KKGSS (Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangha), situated in Garag village near Dharwad City, Karnataka.

15 August Drawing Indian Flag

History of the Indian Flag

The All-India Congress, under the leadership of Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi, tirelessly fought for India’s independence, and there arose a need for a distinctive symbol to represent its nationalist objectives. Pingali Venkayya, a student and freedom fighter, proposed a flag design to Gandhi in 1921. His design reflected the harmony of India’s two principal religions, with red representing Hindus and green representing Muslims.

Lala Hans Raj Sondhi suggested adding a traditional spinning wheel, signifying self-reliance through local fiber production, to the center of the flag. This wheel became synonymous with Mahatma Gandhi’s philosophy. The flag gained popularity, and in August 1931, it was officially recognized by the Indian National Congress, with some modifications like the current arrangement of stripes and the use of saffron instead of red.


The Indian flag stands as a powerful symbol of the nation’s unity, diversity, and rich heritage. Its colors represent the values and aspirations of its people, reminding us of the sacrifices made to achieve freedom. Understanding the significance of the Indian flag fosters a deeper connection with our history and culture.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What do the colors of the Indian flag symbolize?
The colors of the Indian flag symbolize strength and bravery (saffron), truth and peace (white), and fertility and growth (green).

2. Who designed the Indian flag?
The Indian flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya, a freedom fighter, in 1921.

3. When was the Indian flag adopted?
The Indian flag was officially adopted on 22nd July 1947, just before India gained independence.

4. Why is the Ashoka Chakra blue?
The blue color of the Ashoka Chakra represents the sky, the ocean, and the universal truth.

5. Where is the Indian flag manufactured?
The Indian flag is exclusively manufactured by KKGSS (Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangha) in Garag village, Karnataka, India.

Leave a Comment